About ASH
Scientific Meetings
HTN Community Outreach
ASH Foundation Overview
Corporate Members
Related Organizations
Position Papers
ASH Home About Hypertension For Proffesionals For Patients HTN Specialist Membership
American Society of Hypertension (ASH) Members Log in
Make text larger
Home » Scientific Meetings » Scientific Awards » Young Scholars Awards

ASH Young Scholar Awards

ASH members may nominate qualified young investigators for the ASH Young Scholar Award. The Young Scholar Award recognizes the achievements of outstanding young investigators in the field of hypertension.

The Young Scholar Award will be presented during the Annual Scientific Meeting and Exposition of the American Society of Hypertension, Inc.

One award will be given, with $3,000 as a personal award, and $3,000 toward laboratory expenses ($6,000 total for the award). The awardee will also be asked to give a brief lecture presenting the research for which the award was given at the ASH Annual Scientific Meeting.

To qualify for the award, candidates must have received an advance professional degree within the last 15 years and be currently active in research in hypertension or related cardiovascular diseases. Only applicants from North America are considered.


Who wish to have their candidates nominated for an award must be current ASH members and provide the following information:

Complete name, address, phone, and fax numbers, and email of the nominee.
A signed letter of recommendation from the sponsor with a description of the candidate's achievements.


Should send the following to mlevine@ash-us.org::

Current curriculum vitae
2 original publications from a scientific journal

For more information, please contact:
Melissa Levine
Scientific Meetings and Professional Affairs
Associate Executive Director
American Society of Hypertension
244 Madison Avenue, Suite 136
New York, NY 10016
Phone: 212.696.9099
E-mail: mlevine@ash-us.org

The American Society of Hypertension is pleased to announce the recipient of the ASH 2015 Young Scholar Award:

Alexander V. Staruschenko, PhD

The 2015 Awards were presented during the ASH Thirtieth Annual Scientific Meeting during the Awards Session, held on Monday, May 18, 2015.

Alexander V. Staruschenko, PhD
ASH Young Scholar Award Recipient

Alexander Staruschenko, PhD

Alexander Staruschenko is Associate Professor of Physiology at Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Staruschenko received his PhD degree from the Institute of Cytology of the Russian Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg, Russia and completed his postdoctoral training in the Department of Physiology at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio under mentorship of Dr. James D. Stockand. Dr. Staruschenko joined the faculty of the Department of Physiology (headed by Dr. Allen W. Cowley Jr.) at the Medical College of Wisconsin in 2007 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2012.

Dr. Staruschenko’s research is focused on water and electrolyte homeostasis in the kidney and its consecutive regulation of kidney function and control of blood pressure. He is currently studying the role of ENaC, TRPC and other ion channels in hypertension, diabetes and polycystic kidney disease to understand the role of these critical channels in the regulation of cardiorenal function in these diseases. Dr. Staruschenko developed a number of novel approaches and made multiple contributions to understanding the mechanisms of ion channels regulation. He initiated several cutting-edge techniques, including combination of TIRF imaging with FRAP and FRET, electrophysiological (patch clamp analysis) and microscopical studies of ion channel activity in podocytes of freshly isolated glomeruli and split opened normal and cystic collecting ducts. His laboratory is also successfully using state-of-the-art techniques to follow the renal levels of hydrogen peroxide, nitric oxide and ATP in living animals in various experimental conditions.

Dr. Staruschenko published over 75 peer reviewed manuscripts. His laboratory is funded by the NIH, American Diabetes Association, American Society of Nephrology and other agencies. Dr. Staruschenko is also highly committed to various services for research community. He is a member of the editorial board of the AJP: Renal, and AJP: Cell, an Associate Editor for the Frontiers in Renal and Epithelial Physiology and PPAR Research. He is also a standing member of VA Merit Review Nephrology Study Section and served as Ad Hoc at multiple national and international panels including NIH, DOD etc. Furthermore, he served on a number of committees for several societies, such as the American Physiological Society and the American Heart Association and currently a member of Steering Committee of Renal Section of the American Physiological Society.

Dr. Staruschenko was the recipient of the Carl W. Gottschalk Research Scholar Award (2008) and has received special awards for young investigators from the American Physiological Society to support his research, including the Ryuji Ueno Award (2010) and the Lazaro J. Mandel Award (2011). He was also awarded by the Awards for young investigators by the Renal Section of the American Physiological Society, the Recognition Award for Meritorious Research (2009), New Investigator Award (2010), and the Young Investigator Award (2013).