About ASH
Scientific Meetings
HTN Community Outreach
ASH Foundation Overview
Corporate Members
Related Organizations
Position Papers
ASH Home About Hypertension For Proffesionals For Patients HTN Specialist Membership
American Society of Hypertension (ASH) Members Log in
Make text larger
Home » Scientific Meetings » Scientific Awards » ASH Distinguished Scientist Award

ASH Distinguished Scientist Award

The purpose of the ASH Distinguished Scientist Award is to honor a scientist or physician for outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension. One ASH Distinguished Scientist Award is given each year depending on the field to which the award recipient has made his or her contribution. The award recipient receives a framed certificate and an honorarium. The awardee is also requested to present a 30-minute lecture during the Awards Session at the ASH Annual Meeting and will receive complimentary registration and reimbursement for travel expenses and hotel accommodations.

Sponsors who wish to have their candidates nominated for an award must be current ASH members and provide the following information:

Complete name, address, phone, and fax numbers of the nominee
A signed letter of nomination from the sponsor and at least one additional supporting letter. The letters should clearly articulate the major contributions of the nominee to the field of hypertension.
A current curriculum vitae of candidate.

A candidate may be nominated by one or more different individuals within the same year. Previous winners of the ASH Distinguished Scientist Award and members of the ASH Scientific Awards Committee are not eligble for nomination.

The Awards Committee will assess the candidates' overall scientific contributions and their impact on the field of hypertension.

The ASH Distinguished Scientist Award recipient receives an award within one of these five categories:

William Harvey Award
This award is named for scientist William Harvey (1578- 1657) who developed the first accurate account of how the heart and circulatory system operated.

Richard Bright Award
This award is named for Richard Bright, (1789- 1858). Often referred to as the Father of Nephrology, Dr. Bright is well known for his great contributions to the study of the kidney.

Robert Tigerstedt Award
Robert Tigerstedt (1853- 1923) is recognized as an outstanding contributor to both endocrinology and circulation. He is best known for his discovery of the renin- angiotensin system.

Harriet Dustan Award
This award is named for Harriet P. Dustan, MD (1920 - 1999). Dr. Dustan made many contributions to hypertension in her career of over 40 years. These include her clinical and investigative achievements, especially the concept of essential hypertension as a multifactoral disease of pressure regulation. Dr. Dustan explored many of the pressor mechanisms and related new knowledge to therapeutic concepts.

Irvine Page Award
This award is named for Irvine H. Page, MD (1901 - 1991). In Dr. Page's long research career he made endless discoveries and contributions to the treatment and espousal of hypertension. He may be best known for the discovery and characterization of angiotensin, the identification of serotonin, and the mosaic theory.

For more information, please contact:
Melissa Levine

Scientific Meetings and Professional Affairs
Associate Executive Director
American Society of Hypertension
244 Madison Avenue, Suite 136
New York, NY 10016
Phone: 212.696.9099
E-mail: mlevine@ash-us.org